Author Topic: fuel pressure regulator  (Read 5231 times)

Offline richmobj

• Bone Stock
  • PSI: 0
  • Boost n00b
    • View Profile
fuel pressure regulator
« on: December 17 2012, 05:42:51 PM »
 my fuel pressure dies off when the car is shut off for a few minutes and it takes a long time to start. is the adjustable fuel pressure regulator supposed to hold pressure in the line?

Offline PacecarTA

• Turbo Street Limited
  • PSI: 2
  • im not a newbie
    • View Profile
Re: fuel pressure regulator
« Reply #1 on: December 17 2012, 06:11:37 PM »
its supposed to
could be losing quick due to a bad regulator or
 a leak before the regulator ,
leaking injector or injector o ring
, leaking lines  or
could be in the tank leaking at the hose from pump or even a bad check valve in the pump

pump should prime for a few seconds when key is turned to run position   and should eb enough to build pressure , if it doesnt prime check the fuel relay on passenger fender

what pump do you have?
Paul   Magnabuick.com ..NJ rep
86GN pump gas 93/alky 109, iron heads, stock mains, no girdle  9.72 @139
best 1/8 6.13 @ 112 ,best mph 144
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSKzv7ej7Cc
87 GN TTop 109 ,93/alky , 9.82 @ 139 20.6psi , best 1/8th 6.18@113.2
87 GnX'd 
87 GN TTop..stock as can b

Offline richmobj

• Bone Stock
  • Boost n00b
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 17 2012, 08:04:09 PM »
I just purchased and installed an entire new fuel system from turbotweak.com including the Walbro 255L/hr pump, accufab fuel pressure regulator, TT chip and matching 42 lb injectors and hotwire kit.  I also have a fuel pressure gauge installed at the fuel rail schrader valve. 

I've read that the pump should turn on for 2 seconds when the key is switched to the on position.  Either the pump isn't priming or it isn't priming enough to register on the fuel rail because the fuel lines are completely empty.